Alexandre Pato: Chelsea Wanted Me, But I Did Not Want To Leave Milan


Pato Pato celebrates after scoring a goal during the Serie A match between AC Siena and AC Milan at the Artemio Franchi Stadio on MARCH 15, 2009 in Siena, Italy. (Photo by New Press/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Pato

The Brazilian ace has reflected on the Blues link, insisting he was never going to join them…

Milan striker Alexandre Pato insists he has no intention of joining Chelsea and he has revealed he snubbed them during the summer transfer market.

Blues boss Ancelotti was reportedly keen on the Brazilian ace and it is said he had a mega bid for Pato turned down by the Italian giants.

Pato has admitted he was wanted by the Premier League side, but he was in no mood to make the switch.

“I know that they [Chelsea] wanted me, but I never thought about leaving,” Pato told La Stampa.

“It’s true that I wanted to see Ancelotti, but not to join him in London. 

“I was not there when he said goodbye to my team-mates at the end of the season, and this is why I wanted to see him. I spoke to him after and I will always be grateful to him for teaching me.

“However, I will not leave, I will stay with Leonardo.”

Milan have not had the best of pre-season’s. Sceptics have raised eyebrows following a shaky summer, but Pato has warned the critics to expect a backlash from his side.

“Everyone who doesn’t trust this team is wrong. People have been quick to judge, but we know how we have been working in training,” added the hitman.

“We have the quality and the will to do well. We are not inferior to anyone.”

What do you think?

