Christian Abbiati Vows To Become Milan’s First Choice Goalkeeper


Abbiati has made his pitch for next season as he eyes regular football and an Italy role…

Christian Abbiati is convinced he can become Milan’s first choice goalkeeper, despite the arrival of Marco Amelia.

The 33-year-old is recovering from injury and is eager to challenge for his place, but knows he faces an exacting task ahead of the new campaign.

“Amelia’s arrival? I am training hard at 100 per cent and with intensity because I want to be the first choice,” he told La Gazzetta dello Sport.

“I hope to stay fit and without any physical problems so I can enjoy a serene championship.

“But then it’s the coach who decides. In any case I don’t think the fight is between me and Amelia only as there is Flavio Roma too.”

Abbiati’s hope for a regular slot is linked with his ambition to revive the burning embers of his Italy career.

“La Nazionale? If [Cesare] Prandelli calls me then I will run to him,” he concluded.

What do you think?

