Twente Goalkeeper Nikolay Mihaylov Wants Milan Move; Another Option Is Bayer Leverkusen’s Rene Adler


The Bulgarian goalkeeper is desperate to test himself in Serie A, while Milan have another priority on mind…

Nikolay Mihaylov has set his sights on a move to Milan after revealing that he wants to leave Twente at the end of the season.

The 23-year-old goalkeeper has enjoyed great success in the Netherlands since first arriving from Liverpool on loan in 2007 but has admitted that he is keen to test himself in one of Europe’s top leagues.

“My next goal is to make a transfer to a bigger club,” he told De Telegraaf.

“I will soon have talks with my manager about the future. I think I will make a transfer this summer.”

Mihaylov was unequivocal when it came to discussing his preferred destination should he be allowed to leave by Twente.

“I want to play for Milan,” he declared. “My personal ambitions are huge.”

The Bulgarian signed for Liverpool in the summer of 2007 but the deal hit a snag when the player was refused a work permit.

In the meantime, Milan are watching Bayer Leverkusen goalkeeper Rene Adler.

Spox says Milan see the experienced shot-stopper as a long-term successor for Christian Abbiati.

Adler is rated at €10 million by Bayer, whose contract expires in June.

The keeper famously has a clause in his deal which allows him to move to Manchester United for a set fee.

2 responses to “Twente Goalkeeper Nikolay Mihaylov Wants Milan Move; Another Option Is Bayer Leverkusen’s Rene Adler

  1. Adler, in my opinion, is way better that Mihaylov, whose father I watched to play in USA 94. Do you think I’m getting old?
    😀
    If I’m not wrong, he was the Bulgarian keeper in that tournament.

    Like

  2. Hehe… No, you’re not. Every single person has some moments to remember from the ’90 – even I, at least one or two.
    Well, in my opinion both goalkeepers are awesome. But there is a thing I’d recommend Milan to look at before they decide who to choose. That is the current shape. Mihaylov has just became Bulgarian player of the year, so I think he is in a slight advance. Adler is, at least was a great keeper, but I think the injury that kept him away for a while ruined him. If there wasn’t for that injury, he would have already been a Man United player by now.

    Like

What do you think?

