Ghana’s Sulley Muntari: Milan Move A Blessing


Sulley Muntari says he didn’t hesitate when given the opportunity to leave Inter for San Siro rivals Milan.

After three and a half years of ups and downs at Inter, midfielder Sulley Muntari has joined cross-town rivals Milan on loan until the end of the season. The Ghanaian talked about his satisfaction at the move at the training ground of his national team for the African Cup of Nations.

“Milan is a blessing for me, it was hard to hope for anything better,” he said to Calcio News 24. “I have a lot of desire and determination, I want to do well at this great club, which I’ve always admired.

“I can’t wait to make myself available to [coach Massimiliano] Allegri and to play together with so many champions. I am truly happy, and I want to show my value to the club, the coach, and the fans.

“I love football and I think it will be great to play with this team’s players.”

“I wasn’t the first player to change shirts but not city,” the midfielder told the Gazzetta dello Sport on Wednesday.

“It seemed like an excellent opportunity for me and I accepted it straight away.”

Although the transfer was wrapped up late in the winter window, Muntari was expecting the switch to happen.

“I had already spoken to Milan boss Massimiliano Allegri before the African Cup of Nations,” he continued.

“I was then welcomed to the club by CEO Adriano Galliani and director Ariedo Braida.

I want Milan to beat Udinese, so that I can tease my Ghanaian teammates Badu and Asamoah.”

Before joining Inter, Muntari had played five years for Udinese and one season for Portsmouth. During his stay at Inter he has also played on loan at Sunderland.

The ball-winner follows in the footsteps of players like Andrea Pirlo and Clarence Seedorf who swapped Inter for Milan.

What do you think?

