Montpellier’s Oliver Giroud Does Not Rule Out Move To Serie A & Reveals Love For Milan


French striker Olivier Giroud disclosed that it might be hard for him to say no to a big Italian Serie A time…

Since the beginning of the new Ligue 1 campaign, Montpellier striker, Olivier Giroud has proven to be quite a handful for Ligue 1 opponents.

In recent weeks, the Frenchman has become a centre of attention. The striker has already scored the most goals in Ligue 1 this campaign which has understandably attracted interest from many European clubs.

The likes of Napoli and Juventus are very closely monitoring Giroud’s progress and the striker says that he is flattered by the amount of interest he is getting and he has strongly suggested that he would favour a move to Italy.

However while talking to La Gazzetta dello Sport, the Chambery-born striker expressed his love for Milan.

“I always like seeing the big Italian teams play the Champions League, but I must say that I see Real Madrid and Barcelona favorites for this competition.

“I must admit, I support Milan. Marco Van Basten was a myth for me and I loved the elegance and versatility of Shevchenko. I also like Ibrahimovic.”

The recent statements made by the striker mean that he is clearly not sure about his future. However, if he does choose to leave La Paillade, Giroud would certainly not short of suitors.

Meanwhile, Giroud admitted that his first start for his country could not have gone much better.

“There were many positive things,” he is quoted as saying by L’Equipe. “Firstly, it was a great debut because I scored my first goal.

“Then, a victory in Germany, which is no small thing. Tonight [Wednesday], it’s a lot of happiness. I will savour for the next few days.”

Giroud is the top scorer in Ligue 1 this season, having struck 16 times in 24 games.

3 responses to “Montpellier’s Oliver Giroud Does Not Rule Out Move To Serie A & Reveals Love For Milan

  1. Some days ago I read a statement by Mr. Braida – in a website I did not know (bundesligapremier.it) btw – about John Guidetti and he said Milan are basically scouting players in two countries: Germany (Ter Stagen? Höwedes? Hummels?) and Italy (Luis Muriel? Peluso?).

    Giroud is a real surprise this season but I presume he is not going to be a Milan player next season. But many things can change in a blink regarding calciomercato…

    Like

    • Right. I have also hear about few of the mentioned players.. There was a rumor couple of weeks ago stating that Milan will sell Silva to Barca for a huge amount and they will use the money to sign Howedes & Hummels.
      Today, there was something about Muriel – Milan are preparing 10 mil. euro bid.
      Giroud… The fist time I head about him was three days ago. I watched him play against Germany and he left me speechless. I hope he gets the chance to play for his favorite club, I believe he will make his way alongside Ibra…

      Like

  2. T. Silva to Barça? This is not going to happen. For sure!

    Sandro Rosell, 20 years ago, was president of Nike Brasil – Ronaldo endorses Nike products due to him – and he visit our country frequently, speaks Portuguese really well and have a lot of friends in the media here. Recently he was here and said – quite frankly, I must admit – that next season Barça is not going to invest € 75 million in the reinforcement campaign like they did last summer.

    “We (Barça) are not going to produce many headlines. We’ll invest in our players from youth system”, he said.

    Not kidding.

    As for Milan, I suppose the club will hire three or four free agents, will sell Pato and will invest this money in three, maybe four, players. RvP is the main target. And I think Ogbonna (Torino) and Muriel (Lecce, on loan from Udinese) can be important targets as well.

    But let’s wait until July.

    Like

What do you think?

