Real Madrid’s Kaka Vows To Earn Brazil World Cup Berth


Ricky is relishing joining up with Scolari and the Selecao…

Real Madrid midfielder Kaka has vowed to do “everything he can” to regain his place as a regular starter in Brazil’s national football team ahead of next year’s World Cup.

Thursday’s clash against Italy in Geneva will be the 30-year-old’s first match with the national team since Luiz Felipe Scolari was appointed Brazil coach for a second time following the sacking of Mano Menezes in November.

He also believes that his situation has improved at Real Madrid after a frustrating few months with little first team opportunities and says he is delighted to be called up again.

“I think that things are getting better for me, above all at my club. I’m playing more often at Madrid. The supporters are showing that they appreciate me and that is an extra motivation. Now I hope to make the most of this chance with Brazil,” he told Brazilian newspapers.

Kaka is the only player in Scolari’s current 23-man squad to have played under the 64-year-old during Brazil’s 2002 World Cup triumph in Japan and South Korea.

“It’s been a while since I’ve seen Felipao,” he said. “It’ll be great to meet up with him once more and to work with him again. I don’t know how long that’ll be for, but I hope to play at the World Cup in 2014.

“Time is short and I am focused on doing everything I can to guarantee my spot.”

According to Folha De S. Paulo, Real Madrid players Kaka and Marcelo have surprisingly been training with the reserves team today.

What do you think?

